THIS IS WHERE I'LL LIST SITES
YOU SHOULD WATCH OUT FOR

(IF YOU KNOW OF ANY SITES YOU'D LIKE LISTED HERE
PLEASE WRITE TO ME AND EXPLAIN THE SITUATION
)

To Learn Moure About "HOTLINKING" Visit My
HOTLINKING PAGE

All links on this page will
open in a new window.


THE FIRST SITE
August 2003

I want to warn all website owners that there is a webmaster who lists what he considers * "Something Awful". * (sometimes he changes the front page URL) He urges his little dysfunctional followers to submit sites that others would find 'awful'. After the site is listed, his faithful servants ..... er .... I mean ..... visitors go to the listed site and spam it, causing it to go over the allotted bandwidth, therefore shutting the site down. If there is a guestbook or bulletin board at the site, they will all spam that as well with disgusting language and filthy pornographic pictures. (and I mean HUGE pics for bandwidth usage, usually hotlinked from other sites)

Sometimes the site is listed only one day and I have heard he keeps an Archive page for his 'pets' to go through so they can invade the websites at will later on.

My site was spammed for three days. (it is still being visited from his site through the archive page) My guestbook had filth posted like you would not believe - both pictures as well as horrid messages. They're definitely people who have had terrible upbringing. Some of them have a vast knowledge of computers and attempt to hack into your site. As I read the messages, I could simply tell those who had an education and those who were merely a$$holes who had nothing better to do with their idle time. I could just picture a few of them sitting at their child's computer that was given to the child through a program at school for dis-advantaged, welfare children because daddy is too lazy to go out and work to support his family. Guess you might say WE paid for them so daddy can run cyberspace and spam sites that jerk at SomethingAwful lists. They're very good followers who probably can't think for themselves.. Judgmental pea-brains who are most likely proud of their 'work'!

I believe the owner of the site owns the server, therefore if/when you complain, it doesn't do any good. I have a few people working on this problem but until HE breaks the law, there isn't anything that can be done. He's a smart cookie who gets his jollies having his ignorant followers do his dirty work for him. If anyone gets caught, he could easily and honestly state that he lists sites and has no control over what his 'visitors' do and he's absolutely correct. Such a pity there are so many people out there who are controlled by him. So you see, hate-mongers who have an education play it safe while spewing their bigotry and hatred throughout the world. Mighty clever, huh? Well one day I'm sure his efforts to cause trouble with innocent web owners will be stopped. Until then, be careful out there!

Oh, I forgot - he also ignores copyrighted pictures on your site by stealing them to post in his "review" of your 'awful' site.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE SITE OWNER:

Administrative Contact, Technical Contact: Kyanka, Richard (19603073I),
PO Box 9448, Seattle, WA 98109-0448, US, Phone=206-250-5050,
F fax: 123 123 1234

Rich "Lowtax" Kyanka, President, Founder
Experience:
Systems Administrator for Vanderbilt Vision Research Center
Content Director for Gamespy
Content Director for Gamefan
Chief of Webmaster Relations for Gamers.com
Chief of Webmaster Relations for eFront
Programmer / Designer for Fusion Inc.
Contract Writer for NVIDIA
Owner of Something Awful Inc. and http://www.somethingawful.com/

THE SECOND SITE
August 2003

It seems that Community Connect, Inc condones their members constant practice of stealing bandwidth. Ever since the jerkassed webmaster at SomethingAwful listed my URL on his site quite a few members at BlackPlanet.com and MiGente have been doing that very thing to my site. This is why my site went down while it was being hosted by Bravenet Pro. It seems they love to HOTLINK to other website files for graphics. Oh yes!! My site was being hit hundreds of times (& still is to this day but they aren't getting any graphics from me anymore) do to the theft ALLOWED by the hosting company. I wrote to Communities Connection and explain the problem. They're well aware that this practice is against the law, plus it steals bandwidth from the site that where the graphic sits. The answer I got from them was nothing short of, "Tuff shit!"

Sometimes the webmaster of the sites aren't aware of hotlinking on their sites because they're 'guests' sign their guestbooks and include the hotlinking there. I wrote to them and explained it with proof by sending them their HTML code. The ones who answered my request to take the links off their pages were very hostile to say the least. PLUS their command of the English language and spelling were/are the poorest I've ever seen. They outdo ME!!

When I first discovered the practice being done on my site I uploaded very nasty graphics in the place of the ones they were stealing. That didn't stop them and I'll be damned if I'm going to take the time to re-name my files.

I now use a script that my host provides to stop the hotlinking.

INFORMATION ABOUT THE COMMUNITY CONNECT, INC :

Registrant:
Community Connect (COMMUNITYCONNECT-DOM)
494 Broadway 4th Floor
New York, NY 10012
US

Domain Name: COMMUNITYCONNECT.COM

Administrative Contact:
Montero, Michael (MM4016) mike@MAIL.COMMUNITYCONNECT.COM
Community Connect
303 E 5TH ST
BROOKLYN, NY 11218-2405
US
(917) 649-7224
Technical Contact:
Administrator, Interport Domain (JR181) domreg@rcn.com
Interport Communications
1133 BROADWAY
NEW YORK, NY 10010-7903
US
212-989-1128 fax: 212-989-0453

Record expires on 24-Oct-2009.
Record created on 09-Oct-2002.
Database last updated on 29-Aug-2003 17:31:31 EDT.

Domain servers in listed order:

NS1.COMMUNITYCONNECT.COM 209.10.169.50
NS2.COMMUNITYCONNECT.COM 209.11.34.34

So far that's it but I'm sure there will be more added as time goes by. If you have knowledge of sites that should be listed so others can be aware of them, please drop me a line at RICKIE LEE's.COM



© Rickie Lee, 2003
Sorry, no linking to my graphics.
If you want them, download them - it's
that simple.